News & Announcements

10th Annual Choose Ohio First Conference

On April 15th, over 300 Choose Ohio First Scholars convened in Youngstown for the tenth annual research poster conference presented by Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland State University, Cuyahoga Community College, Kent State University, and Youngstown State University. 
CSU was represented by 93 Scholars from the Success in Mathematics cohort who presented 25 out of 106 total posters and won 3 of the top 20 prizes — two in the "Mathematics, Statistics, and Computer Science" category and one in the "Engineering and Technology" category:
  • Anthony Campagna (Mathematics), Hayden Ferencz (Computer Science), and Shadi Zogheib (Electrical and Computer Engineering), “Evaluating Computer Processing Efficiency Through Square Matrix Decryption” advised by Dr. Yongjian Fu, Associate Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (Picture 1).
  • Alex Johnson (Environmental Sciences and Biology), Sho Tanaka (Mechanical Engineering), Jemima Ukwela (Health Sciences, pre-Occupational Therapy), and Alexa Roberts (Chemical Engineering), “Modeling Temporal Variations in Escherichia coli at Villa Angela Beach in Cleveland, Ohio” advised by Dr. Barbara Margolius, Professor of Mathematics (Picture 2).
  • Alexander Thornton (Computer Science), Chase Petti (Mechanical Engineering), Andrew Leeseberg (Computer Science), and Jalen McKinnie (Electrical Engineering), “The Reduction of Motion Sickness in VR (Virtual Reality) Applications” advised by Mrs. Nicole Strah, Physics Instructor (Picture 3).
Winning teams are pictured below with Amanda Maxwell, Ohio Department of Higher Education’s Choose Ohio First Assistant Director. There were also many very fine posters that were not on the short list of award winners. Kudos to Success in Mathematics Advisor Dr. Kiril Streletzky, Coordinator Kara D’Angelos, and Graduate Assistant Kendra Helfrich for orchestrating CSU participation and to the 20 faculty members from the College of Sciences & Health Professions and Washkewicz College of Engineering who advised the Choose Ohio First Scholars’ undergraduate research projects. The Choose Ohio First Student Success in Mathematics regional collaboration recognizes that a sound mathematical background is a gateway to careers in engineering, chemistry, physics, computer science, and related fields but being a math major is not a requirement of the program.
Choose Ohio First is a state-funded scholarship program aimed at graduating more students in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics, and Medicine (STEMM). Program Director Dr. Barbara Margolius guides faculty advisors in five program tracks who engage CSU’s 178 Choose Ohio First Scholars in various mentoring, advising, networking, research, and service activities as they work towards completing their undergraduate degree. 
COF Team 1
Picture 1: Anthony Campagna, Hayden Ferencz, and Shadi Zogheib
COF Team 2
Picture 2: Alex Johnson, Sho Tanaka, Jemima Ukwela, and Alexa Roberts
Team 3
Picture 3: Alexander Thornton, Chase Petti, Andrew Leeseberg, and Jalen McKinnie