School of Health Sciences

Health Sciences News and Activities

APHA TV Interview
Christina Dragon and School of Health Sciences faculty member Dr. Don Allensworth-Davies, the President and Program Chair of the LGBT Caucus of Public Health Professionals (2018), answer questions about major issues that the LGBTQ community is facing today at the annual meeting of the American Public Health Association.

Adaptive Lacross Team
Adaptive Lacrosse
The Adaptive Lacrosse program at Cleveland State University is a unique collaboration between the School of Health Sciences and the Men’s Lacrosse program. This program was designed in 2018 to provide a framework and resource for the development and implementation of community based adaptive lacrosse programs in the Greater Cleveland area. The program aims to allow individuals with cognitive and physical disabilities the opportunity to engage in physical activity, socialize with their peers and learn about the game of lacrosse. It also provides a unique and exciting opportunity for students from different programs at Cleveland State to work with one another to promote health and improve the quality of life for this population. 

If you are interested in attending an adaptive lacrosse event or in supporting an athlete with special needs in your community, please let us know!

Sahley Golden Apple 2019
Cleveland State Alumni recognize teaching Excellence!
The Golden Apple Award is a recognition program sponsored by the Young Alumni Council at Cleveland State University to acknowledge the outstanding faculty and staff members who have made a difference on campus and in the community. Graduates of the past 10 years have the opportunity to nominate a faculty/staff member that they feel demonstrate teaching excellence. Congratulations to Health Science faculty member, Tony Sahley, on his 2019 award!

​​​​​​​Dr. Don Allensworth-Davies at the 4th Annual Cancer Disparities Symposium: Cultivating Science and Community Engagement to Address Cancer Health Disparities sponsored by the Case Comprehensive Cancer Center discussing cancer disparities in LGBTQ communities.

Drs. T.L. Sahley and M.D. Hammonds, in collaboration with Dr. D.J. Anderson from Chemistry, were recently (03/2020) awarded a Faculty Scholarship Initiative (FSI) grant for $5000 entitled “Locus Coeruleus (LC)-Activation and Dynorphin/Cytokine Release in the Mouse Brain.”

Journal Publications

TL Sahley, DJ Anderson, MD Hammonds, K Chandu, FE Musiek (2019). Evidence for a Dynorphin-Mediated Inner Ear Immune/Inflammatory Response and Glutamate-Induced Neural Excitotoxicity: An Updated Analysis. (An Invited Review and Theoretical Model: 468 references); In Press: The Journal of Neurophysiology.

K Chandu, TL SahleyMD Hammonds, M Miyagi, DJ Anderson (2019). Determination of the Concentrations of Dynorphins at the Low Physiological Concentrations by LC-MS/MS. National Meeting of Mass Spectrometry: Applications to the Clinical Laboratory (MSACL), Palm Springs CA, March 31-April 4.

K Chandu, TL Sahley, MD Hammonds, M Miyagi, DJ Anderson (2019). Quantification and Evaluation of Sample Preparation Techniques in the Determination of Dynorphin Opioid Peptides by LC-MS/MS (MRM). American Society for Mass Spectrometry (ASMS) Annual Convention, Atlanta GA, June 2-6.​​​​​​​

Gould FDH, Lammers AR, Mayerl CJ, German RZ (2019). Specific vagus nerve lesion have distinctive physiologic mechanisms of dysphagia. Frontiers in Neurology 10:1301. DOI 10.3389/fneur.2019.01301